Sports Awards 2019

2019 Sport Central Coast Award Recipients

Sportsperson Of The Year - nicola mcdermott (athletics)

  • Bronze Medalist 2018 Commonwealth Games

  • Competed in the International Athletics Diamond League Series

  • Improved her jump height to 1.96m (equal 3rd all time Australian and highest Australian jump in 25 years)

  • Won National Championships and finished 15th in World Championships in 2019.

  • Has already qualified for Australian Olympic Team for Tokyo 2020.

young Sportsperson of the year - Callum sutton (athletics / paddling)

  • Callum excels in two sports: discus and prone paddleboard ocean racing.

  • Following success with the discus at school and junior athletics championships, Callum represented Australia in the 2019 Oceania Athletics Championships where he won gold in the Under 20s men’s discus.

  • Callum was also crowned the 2018-2019 Australia Ocean Racing Series Champion in the Open Men’s Prone Paddleboard category

Team of the year - Central coast crusaders Open Men (Basketball)

  • Winners of the 2019 Spalding NSW Senior Waratah League.

  • After qualifying for the Finals series, the side defeated Maitland in the Semi Final and met a tough Manly side in the Final and won a very close fixture 74-72 with an incredible buzzer beater

  • The players within this team are champions on and off the course and many have been playing at the stadium since primary school

  • The win will inspire young players and shows them there is a real pathway to playing at an elite level.

Volunteer of the year - Kathy Cummings (deepwater dragon boat club)

  • Kathy guides the club on and off the water. As President for the last six years and Head Coach she is an outstanding contributor and inspirational leader.

  • Kathy holds one of the highest levels of coaching for dragon boating at a L3 and is a L4 sweep and is mentor to all the Clubs coaches and sweeps.

  • Her careful planning, drive and enthusiasm provide the Club with so many opportunities and because of this they continue to grow every year.

coach of the year - chris ohlback (basketball)

  • Chris Commenced competition with 7 straight Wins & completed the 22 games with a 16-6 Win/Loss Record.

  • This then led them to the promised land – creating history – 2019 Grand Final Winners beating the Manly Sea Eagles – with a ‘Buzzer Beater’ with seconds left in the game….74-72…a fadeaway jumper – a tip in from Cal Jenkins and pandemonium at Terrigal Stadium – Mitch Reeter the MVP

young coach / official of the Year - Alexander jones (central coast hockey)

  • Only Junior in the history of Central Coast Hockey to hold a Level 1 Umpire Qualification at only 16 years old.

  • Central Coast Mens Premier Hockey League Umpire 2019 and Division 1 Men’s Grand Final Umpire 2019.

  • SchoolSport Australia U16s Hockey Championships NSW Umpire 2019.

  • Hockey NSW Community Official of the Year 2019…..And Sports NSW Finalist Young Official of the Year 2019..

Sportsperson of the Year with a disability - dylan littlehales (paracanoe)

  • Dylan a member of Avoca Kayak Club in 2019 won gold at both the NSW State Championships and Australian National Championships in the Open Men’s KL3. 

  • This year Dylan secured a bronze medal at a Paralympic test event in Tokyo and with a 4th place in the Paracanoe World Championships he has qualified for next year’s Paralympics.

  • Incorporated a number of different partners and supporters including; Clubs NSW, The Office of Sport, NBN, Southern Cross Media, Local Councils, Central Coast Grammar School and Central Coast Tourism

organisation of the year - gosford district rifle club

  • Gosford District Rifle Club is made up of a group of determined members who host events for people from all over NSW and interstate.

  • They are a family club with many relatives competing together at Kariong. They were innovative when deciding to alter where their members’ fees went and instead of continually buying manual target markers they took out a bank loan to buy electronic targets and their fees paid off that loan.

  • They provide a unique playing field where men & women compete on equal footing across a wide range of ages and abilities. 

initiative / event of the year - central coast heart (social twilight netball)

  • Benefits included Increased participation in social Netball for families

  • Over 700 participants (players/Officials)

  • Evening Timeslot

  • Party Atmosphere/music pumping so a different feel to the serious weekend competitions.

Congratulations to all Finalists:

Sportsperson Of The Year

  • Shenay Ball (Terrigal Rugby Club)

  • Justin Avendano (Sydney Sixers)

  • Kirra Dibb (Womens Rugby League)

  • Bailey Mannix (Central Coast Boxing)

  • Luke King (Luke King Racing)

  • Matt Graham (Winter Sport Athlete)


Young Sportsperson of the year

  • Liliya Tatarinoff (Central Coast Cycling Club)

  • Danny Vojnikovich (KIDO Mingara Judo Academy)

  • Nathan Ward (Mingara Aquatic Swimming Club)

  • Lincoln Hey (Central Coast Cycling Club)

  • Tia Hart (Central Coast Academy of Sport)

  • Noah Elton (Terrigal BMX Club)

  • Dylan Littlehales (Avoca Kayak Club)

  • Ashley Pernecker (Mingara Athletics Club)

  • Lain Carr (Central Coast Hockey Association)


Team of the year

  • Luke King Racing (Luke King Racing)

  • Central Coast Rugby League (The Entrance RLFC – 1st Grade)

  • Terrigal Rugby Club (Terrigal Rugby Club – 1st Grade)

  • Terrigal Rugby Club (Terrigal Rugby Club Womens 7’s Team)

  • Central Coast Mariners (Central Coast Mariners U15 NPL Women)

  • Central Coast Heart (Open Premier League Team)

  • Gosford City Rebels (Rebels U14 Womens)

  • Southern Ettalong Football Club (Southern Ettalong United Womens)

  • Central Coast Crusaders (Central Coast Crusaders U18 Men)

  • Peninsula Touch Association (Peninsula Touch Mens U20 Rep Team)

Volunteer of the year

  • Carolyn McGuiness (Terrigal Rugby Club)

  • Michael Smith (Killarney Vale AFL Club)

  • Kieren Moore (Central Coast Basketball)

  • Richard Engelshus (Peninsula Touch Association)

  • Josh Davies (CC Rugby League Referees Association)

  • Zeke Newman (Hockey NSW)


Coach of the year

  • Matthew Horsnell (Athletics)

  • Robyn Low-Hart (Central Coast Academy of Sport)

  • Murray Cox (Terrigal Rugby Club)

  • Amber Cross (Central Coast Heart)

  • Dianne Barrymore (Peninsula Ducks Softball Club)

  • Rod Dillon (Peninsula Touch Association)

  • Steven Mannix (Central Coast Boxing)

  • Lauren Gosson (Central Allstars)

Young coach / official of the Year

  • Charlotte Tarleton (Wyong District Hockey Club)

  • Gemma O’Rourke (Wyong District Hockey Club)

  • Kristie Ratcliffe (Gymnastics)

  • Ella Ruane (Gymnastics)

  • Hamish Loader (Gosford City Rebels)Sportsperson of the Year with a disability

Sportsperson of the Year with a disability

  • Joshua Smith (Disability Sport – Swimming)

  • Rachael Blade (Wyong Lakes Magpies)

  • Kallan Strong (CCAS/Bateau Bay Tenpin Bowl)

  • Katelyn Smith (Disability Sport – Athletics/Tenpin Bowling)

  • Ethan Scaturchio (GoalBall – Footbal – Cricket)


Organisation of the year

  • Saratoga Sailing/Deepwater Dragon Boat Club

  • Scallywaggs Gymnastics


Initiative / event of the year

    • Terrigal Rugby Club (Terrigal Haven Lighting Upgrade)

    • Central Coast Mariners Academy (Coast Cup)

    • Central Coast Baketball (Waratah Finals Weekend)

    • Terrigal United FC (Under 5/6/7 Gala Day)

    • Central Coast Disabled Surfers Association (Disabled Surfing)